Writing Sci-Fi

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Genre-Writing Sci-Fi Writing Sci-Fi

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Snapper
    @dragon-snapper
      • Total Posts: 3515

Does anyone have any experience in writing science fiction? I’ve recently begun to write a sci-fi book, but it is my first attempt, and I’d appreciate any input you all can give me. And also book suggestions that are good sci-fi examples. Anything you can tell me is welcome. But if you want specificities, I’d like to know how to describe mechanics (the special cool stuff that is completely and entirely made up and that no one knows about except you 😛 ), actions scenes that unfortunately don’t include swords or dragons, and how to write without epic capes. And book recommendations (if there are any) Thanks!

@leumeister
      (you’ve written some sci-fi, haven’t you?) @writefury @sarah-h @jess @daeus @kate-flournoy @rachelle @hope @jane-maree @overcomer @gretald @perfectfifths @Brandon-miller @aratrea @anyone else who likes sci-fi

☀ ☀ ☀ ENFP ☀ ☀ ☀

Jess
      @jess
        • Total Posts: 575

@dragon-snapper Soooo I come from a family that is very sci-fi oriented. (Except for my mom, and younger brothers.) So basically just my dad, but he makes up for everyone else. I recently finished a (messy) first draft of a dystopian/sci-fi.

How to write Sci-fi? Ummm… I don’t know. Just like any other book, but a little different, I suppose. (Wow Jess, very helpful.) I tend to like Sci-fi that is set in the future, and often with a bit of dystopia/ and or space.