What Have Your Experiences Been Like?

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Publishing & Platform What Have Your Experiences Been Like?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    LivyLynn
    @livylynn
      • Total Posts: 21

Hey there!
      So, I would LOVE to hear what some of your experiences have been like with pursuing traditional publishing, vs self-publishing. Do you have a favorite? Have you tried both?
      Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and experiences on the subject! 🙂

Daeus
      @daeus
        • Total Posts: 4238

@livylynn I have self-published once.

When I first started writing, I really wanted to be traditionally published, but I eventually did a 180. The reason was simple. Since I was a beginning author, publishers would want to see my platform before they published me. And if I already had a platform, why not self-publish? After all, self-publishing has much higher royalty rates.

Now, there are three reasons I think it might be reasonable to the go the traditionally published route.
        1. Insecurity. If you feel terrified of publishing your novel, having a publisher telling you they’ve accepted your book could be a huge confidence builder.
        2. Platform building. When you get traditionally published, you don’t have to find every reader all by yourself. Your publisher will do at least some of that for you. Plus, they can probably get you promotional opportunities you couldn’t have gotten al by yourself. If you can capture these new readers on your email list, it could help prepare you to successfully self-publish in the future. I’m not recommending anyone use this strategy, but I think it’s worth considering.
        3. You can get a really lucrative deal.