What Are the Cliches of Sci-Fi?

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Genre-Writing Sci-Fi What Are the Cliches of Sci-Fi?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jenna Terese
    @jenwriter17
      • Total Posts: 2522

Hi, all! My current WIP is a sci-fi trilogy. I’ve never written sci-fi before. What are some of the common cliches in this genre that I would want to avoid?

I'm a Kapeefer 'TIL WE'RE OLD AND GREY!
      www.jennaterese.com

Joy
      @dekreel
        • Total Posts: 2304

@jenwriter17  Others might have better answers than me but here we go…

• Aliens with weird names like Zworg or Qluzzu
        • All ugly aliens are bad
        • Sci-fi stories that are focused solely on space and/or time, and new frontiers. People have already written stories like that (Star Trek, classic Doctor Who), and by now they are cliche because of it
        • Lasers and laser guns

Bear in mind that I have mostly gotten these cliches from media, and I have virtually no experience with sci-fi literature (except Calvin & Hobbes), so I might not have been that helpful 😉

You can pronounce it however you want.

Ben Powell
        @supermonkey42
          • Total Posts: 273

@jenwriter17 Ooh, good question! Probably at least 50% of my reading and writing is sci-fi, and I have to say, there aren’t as many cliches as, say, fantasy (at least that I notice), because the whole idea of sci-fi is to come up with some crazy/unusual/futuristic/dystopian situation and use that as a major part of the story.

There remains definitely cliches, though. I agree with @dekreel, and I’ll add a couple more:

• Time travel. This is way overused, and it’s overuse is accentuated by the fact that almost everyone uses the same premise (space-time fabric, can’t see your former self, can’t change anything from the past, the future is always dystopian, etc.)