Welp… I’m writing a script…

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing General Writing Discussions Welp… I’m writing a script…

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Esther
    @esther-c
      • Total Posts: 3213

Hey everyone!!

So, I’m taking a drama class for school. And we have a pretty small group, so we’ve decided to write our own script to perform. Well, they found out I was a writer so I was commissioned to write the script!

We already have the plot, characters, and all that jazz figured out. But I need help with the actual writing of the script. Any tips you guys might have on writing a script?

(I don’t even know who to tag… XD)

Write what should not be forgotten. — Isabel Allende

MineralizedWritings
      @mineralizedwritings
        • Total Posts: 2801

Hello hello!

I have done a small amount of this because I write comics. Because you have narration, dialouge, and action all in the same writing, you can use colors to differentiate them. If you can’t use colors, try something like this.

Narrator: Esther was writing a script, but she didn’t know how to finish it.

{Min enter from left, fanning herself with her script papers}

Min: “Well I’m sorry, but I can’t help you much.”

{Min tosses papers on the ground}

{Esther looks disgruntled}

Narrator: Esther was upset at her friends lack of helpfulness, so she turned to the internet for help instead.

{Esther exit to right of stage}

Ok ok I had way too much fun with that, but you see how the {} breaks the actions from the dialogue? Hope that helped!

へびは かっこいい です!

Smiley
        @smiley
          • Total Posts: 2179

@esther-c

I have done a little bit of screenwriting, but I’m not very good at it

But from studying scripts from movies *coughs* mostly Marvel movies

it’s helpful to be as clear as possible in the script of the actions, making sure you pay attention to the emotions too

Miley: It’s hard writing plays…