Prayers in our writing

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Mission, Calling & Ethics Prayers in our writing

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Skredder
    @skredder
      • Total Posts: 527

I know that in a lot of books and stories that have Christians, and in general mention God, at least one of the characters prays. Typically, these prays are completely written out. However, I cannot bring myself to write out prayers for my characters because for me personally it seems almost like blasphemy, almost taking His name in vain.

I was wondering what others’ take on this is.

"For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind."

Joy
      @dekreel
        • Total Posts: 2304

@skredder  Well, I’m no expert, but I know for a fact that when one prays to God, whether it’s you or a fictional being, it isn’t blasphemy or taking His name in vain. Because you’re talking to God, you know! (Or whatever equivalent of God you have in your story) 🙂

You can pronounce it however you want.

Grace H.
        @gh24682468999
          • Total Posts: 199

@skredder I’m not a theologian either, but I certainly don’t think its blasphemous. In fact, if you are writing a story with the aim to glorify God and you’re using your characters and their actions to back that up, it really is the other way around!

And from what I know from what I’ve read in the Bible, I’m thinking you can apply the lessons from Romans 14, where Paul talks about the finer elements of faith, but how the point is “righteousness, peace, and joy in the Holy Spirit” (v17). God doesn’t care about what we eat or how we commemorate our Sabbaths if our heart is right with Him and wanting what he wants, and focusing on the nit-picky details in life can in fact be detrimental (Colossians 2:20-23).

But then if you believe God wants you to abstain from doing certain things, then act on that conviction. 😉