My story has problems… any ideas are welcome! XP

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Plotting My story has problems… any ideas are welcome! XP

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    MineralizedWritings
    @mineralizedwritings
      • Total Posts: 2803

OK, so thanks for checking out this topic.. any advice/ideas are welcome!

I’m a pretty inexperienced writer, and my story is currently being written out of order. I know the main climactic points, a kinda sweet scene I want (Will be sweet if the build-up is done properly otherwise…😅) and I wrote a scene of my mc crying that I’ll throw in there somewhere because tbh it’s some of my best writing, idk why.

My general problem: I have a lot of exposition information, It doesn’t all have to be in the beginning, but It’s hard to find the right characters to use to reveal it.

It’s a dystopian fiction, set after a civil war that was caused by political division. There are about 8 bunkers connected in an network, but only 2 (the east and west) are important to the plot. They have some long-standing strain from previous political disagreements, and their method of solving it is simply “I never want to see you again”.

By the climax the reader needs:

1. Understand the political division with the east prior to the climax, and understand what part my mc’s dad had in it.

2. This is the hard one. There needs to be a firm foundation of my mc’s, Tauren and Lesli’s relationship. They obviously care about each other immensely, but because they became friends as children, (or in my book, scenes that will end up as backstory) I’m having a hard time finding a meaningful way to show that. I can’t jump right in with Tauren comforting Lesli after her parents break up, It’ll seem cheesy if you don’t already love the characters.

3. They need to understand the district set-up. The west is divided into about 6 districts of different professions, and a shopping/selling central district.