Hey y’all! Mind if I get some help?

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Characters Hey y’all! Mind if I get some help?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
      • Total Posts: 147

Hey yonder’s! Peeps! Writers! Calling all those who’d like to help!!

For those of you who know me briefly, you’ll know that I’m a published author of the LivingWoodChronicles. For those of you who don’t know me…well…my name is Wilder and I’m an author lol and I’m in need of some help. Just like everyone else, when I’m not dreaming 97% of the time I’m plotting new ideas. And I have one now that I would LOVE to make a real thing.

Here’s the gist: I have a good buddy of mine who is turning 18 this coming summer and I wanna give her a gift that could possibly blow her mind. What is that gift? Well, it’s this book I’m putting together. But right now, I’m struggling a bit. I have a good idea, a great plot, characters built and world building done, but right now….I’m really struggling with this one part I can’t seem to get down. So here is my question….

How do I write about single-fathers stewarding their children?

I just, I have this single father who I can’t seem to get built…his name is Calder. He’s 28. Single-dad, wife died a car accident a year ago. Has a five year old daughter named Alice…oh she is a sweetheart! Calder has a job as a sheriff for the county ( which gets tied in bc this book is a murder mystery)…all that is great…but I’ve never read about single-dad’s. Only know one. And I’m just not sure how to make this happen. Do y’all have ideas? I want Calder to be a amazing character that the readers connect to for emotional support. I want him to love, struggle, and fear…I want him to be life-like. Alive.

yeah….

Kathleen
      @kathleenramm
        • Total Posts: 635

@wilder-w

Woah, it’s really cool how your writing a story for your friend. To have someone write a book specifically for you, man, that’s special.