Autobiography/I need help!

Home Page Forums Other Art Forms Non-Fiction Autobiography/I need help!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
      • Total Posts: 692

Hey! I’m sure there are some here who enjoy writing autobiographies. How do you start one? I’ve never done 1 before.

Folith-Feolin
      @folith-feolin
        • Total Posts: 310

@sarafini

are you sure you want to write an autobiography?

Autobiography are about yourself and cover everything in your life up to the point of writing

There are also

memoirs which are about a specific point in your life

biographies which are about other people

also you could write a fictional version of one of these were you just write one of the above about a fake person usually in a fake world the only book I have seen do this correctly is name of the wind and that is just a weird book.

That is sadly all the help In can offer

Esther
        @esther-c
          • Total Posts: 3202

@sarafini

That sounds really cool!! I’ve never known anybody who has written an autobiography before.

The only advice I can offer, is this:

Read other auto/biographies. Then you can see how they wrote it. Secondly, when you’re starting at your childhood, you don’t have to document everything. Think of some really important moments that happened, and only do that. So really, start by writing down or outlining important moments and memories that impacted you life.

Hope that helped!! 🙂

Write what should not be forgotten. — Isabel Allende

Erica
          @starofthenorth
            • Total Posts: 199

@sarafini

It’s cool you want to write an autobiography!

I don’t mean to discourage you from doing what you want to, but it might be better to wait till you’re older and have more to write about. Unless, of course, you have a story that you want to share about what’s happened to you already.

Or maybe you were meaning to start writing one now and write more as you live longer. That’s a great idea!