A question for any Brits/people-who-know-about-this here…

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing General Writing Discussions A question for any Brits/people-who-know-about-this here…

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    relia
    @relia
      • Total Posts: 47

This is sorta random, so it goes in general, I guess.

As a precursor, I am… well, I’m not an American, but I am a North American, so I really don’t have much of a *realistic* view on British culture. Also, I am really sorry if I swear, I don’t mean to which is the entire point of this post.

I’m writing a fantasy where there are people who speak like Americans, and people who speak like Brits. Essentially, since I have no experience with the UK besides watching Premier League and Jeeves & Wooster  I have no idea which exclamatory words fall into a “oh, dang it!” category and which ones fall into an f word category. I know Americans tend to have a very skewed view of Britain, and a lot of the words I’m writing, I’m comfortable using because I’ve only seen or heard them in a “lol those brits” context.

Google only gives me articles containing many actual bad words when I try to research this, so I am turning to you.

So… are words such as “bloody”, “blasted,” etc. actual cuss words? In my mind, “Blast it!” is equivalent to “Darn it!” but seeing as I have no experience with actual Brits talking I have no idea if I’m right.

In conclusion: I want to make my writing clean, and I don’t know if the “exclamations of frustration” I’m using are as not-bad as I think they are, so I’d appreciate some clarification from anyone in the know. If they aren’t, great! If they are, please let me know so I can delete them from this post, and replace the offending words in my WIP with words that are appropriate.

And since we’re on the topic, are there any expressions you guys use I should know about, or perhaps ones you’re stereotyped as using that you really don’t?