How to write song lyrics – Help!

Home Page Forums Other Art Forms Music How to write song lyrics – Help!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 49 total)
  • Author
    Jackson Graham
    @warrioroftherealm
      • Total Posts: 115

Anybody have any advice on song writing? I have never really tried it before, and I am not very good with poetry, so…

I decided to write one. 🙂

My messages and imagery need to be stronger, but I need to keep the verses a very similar size and *sigh* possibly meter.

Ideas?

Jackson E. Graham
      http://jacksonegraham.wixsite.com/jackson-e-graham

Jackson Graham
      @warrioroftherealm
        Snapper
        @dragon-snapper
          • Total Posts: 3515

@warrioroftherealm
          Sing it to yourself, or someone else. Just like writing, you should read it out loud. Switch words around so they fit the meter you’re singing.

☀ ☀ ☀ ENFP ☀ ☀ ☀

Emma Flournoy
          @emma-flournoy
            • Total Posts: 1352

@WarrioroftheRealm I make up tunes for poems and songs sometimes, but I don’t have much experience writing the lyrics myself. I’m sorry I can’t help you… 😛

Kate Flournoy
            @kate-flournoy
              • Total Posts: 3976

@WarrioroftheRealm wow, this is really not my field of expertise. 😛 I write poems and sometimes turn them into songs in my head, but as far as actual lyric writing goes, I’m afraid I haven’t got much of anything to offer in the way of knowledge or advice. I’ll let you know if I think of anything though.

Daeus
              @daeus
                • Total Posts: 4238

@Warrioroftherealm I’ve written one set of lyrics before. As far as the actually poetic style, lyrics aren’t really very different from most other forms of poetry. I don’t believe lyrics need to have meter, but I may be wrong. It’s also not necessary to have the exact same number of syllables in every line, but the difference shouldn’t be more than a syllable or two.