KP Book Review: The Wingfeather Saga

If you are searching for a book that encompasses the wit and the humor of the Princess Bride along with the charm and imagination found in The Chronicles of Narnia, (and even if you weren’t) The Wingfeather Saga is just for you. wingfeatherreview

Andrew Peterson opens the series with the book On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, where we begin in the town of Glipwood and are introduced to the three Igiby children, Janner, Tink, and Leeli. Peterson’s writing style is quick-witted, fast-paced, and—as I like to put it—bouncy, which easily draws you into the world of Aerwiar and its inhabitants, including, but most certainly not limited to, Quill Diggles, Thwarps, Skreean Snickbuzzards, and the most feared of them all, the Toothy Cow.

When the Igiby children find a map that is said to lead them to the lost jewels of Anniera, (jewels the infamous lizard-like Fangs of Dang will do anything in their power to possess) Janner, Tink, and Leeli are thrown into the midst of a wild and epic adventure where they unlock some secrets of the past and discover who they truly are.

Unlike some Christian novels I’ve read, God is not simply thrown in. Instead, The Maker, as He is addressed, plays a key role in the lives of the characters as they often seek and draw near to Him as their journey progresses. When Andrew Peterson wrote these books, he truly gave us a treasure that is full of fun, excitement, and mystery. Just like eating potato chips, you cannot read just one chapter; I promise you will be begging for more, and before you know it you will have eaten the whole bag.

Profile photo of Christi Eaton
Christine Eaton is a student at Providence Christian College who loves stories and hopes to publish children’s books. Wearing flip-flops in December, frequenting the beach, and taking every opportunity to visit Disneyland, Christine relishes living in sunny Southern California. She can usually be found happily sipping tea, memorizing lines from the latest play she is a part of, caving into her addiction to chocolate, writing encouraging snail mail, or listening to music, which is usually something folky like Andrew Peterson or the Gray Havens, or some Broadway musical (and rarely anything landing between those two categories.) Art is one of her largest passions, and her walls are covered in her sketches and paintings. Christine yearns to use her skills to glorify God by illustrating and writing her own children’s books that will teach children more about Jesus. Some of her favorite authors include A.S. Peterson, Francine Rivers, Louisa May Alcott, and Andrew Peterson. She is so thankful for the opportunity to manage Kingdom Pen’s social media accounts and help out around the Kingdom wherever she can. From the encouragement, enthusiastic young Christian writers, and her fellow staff members, KP holds a huge place in her heart and she is excited about encouraging young writers to write well and glorify God through their writing.
Dare to share
Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter0Email this to someone


  1. I love these books! And great review, Christi!

  2. Thanks for writing this! I really want to read these books at some point. Waiting for my local library to catch on 😉

  3. This makes me want to read them. I wonder if my Library has them…

  4. They are great books, sad, but wonderful all at the same time. 😀 I also like you comparison: they are indeed a mixture of the Princess Bride and the Chronicles of Narnia. Having finished the series, I have decided that intentionally or unintentionally, Andrew Peterson based it off of 1 Corinthians 13: each character is one of the ‘Love is..’ things. 🙂 Artham is ‘Love always protects’, Leeli is ‘Love always hopes’…. 😀

Speak Your Mind