Weird Things People Tell Me 'Cause I'm a Writer

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing General Writing Discussions Weird Things People Tell Me 'Cause I'm a Writer

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 50 total)
  • Author
    Jenna Terese
    @jenwriter17
      • Total Posts: 2522

I created this topic to share all the funny and weird things that has happened to us being writers. Here’s a couple of my experiences….

I daydream while my mom and another mom-friend talk about their kids’ interests. I’m really not part of the conversation until my mom says, “My daughter writes books.”

Mom-Friend turns to me. “Oh really? That’s amazing. What are your books about?”

I blink. “Uh…..” Okay, so they asked what my bookzzzzzz (plural) are about. Like, you want me to tell you what each of my books are about?! I doubt it. So I just say with an awkward chuckle, “Well, most of them have horses in ’em.” ‘Cause most people know I love horses. They usually nod understandingly and carry on to another topic. Crisis averted. I’m never really to tell someone about my each of my books and WIPs.

Other times my mom whips out that common sentence “My daughter writes books,” people look at me like she said I was gonna run for president of USA or something.

“Wow,” they say. “So, are you gonna be a bestselling author (and/or) am I gonna see you on tv someday?”

Well, of course I’d like to be a bestselling author, but this question doesn’t have a yes or no answer, ’cause I don’t know. And for the second question, well, I don’t usually see authors on tv.

So I usually shrug, laugh, and say, “I’m not sure. Maybe.”

I’d love to hear funny stories of from you writers!

@daeus
      @aratrea @jane-maree @rochellaine @radically-surrendered @introvert_girl @that_writer_girl_99 @mariposa @skredder @livgiordano @waterlily @warrenluther04 @dekreel @sam-kowal @notawriter @itisastarrynight @daughteroftheking @dragon-snapper @audrey-caylin @sarah-anson @sage-g @emily-d @anyone else