This Introduction Needs Refining

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Critiques Novel Critique Requests This Introduction Needs Refining

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Joy
    @dekreel
      • Total Posts: 2304

@emily  @shannon  @sam-kowal  @princessfoo  @catwing  @daeus  @aratrea  @introvert_girl  @jenwriter17  @jane-maree  @other-kapeefers

I have decided that my Dr Who novella would probably be a lot better in first-person POV, so I have decided to basically rewrite the whole thing. Except I have never written anything in first person before (other than in my diaries). Any advice on first person? Anything I need to know?

Quick note: The main character is an English college student who is studying to be a journalist. He met the Doctor when he mistook the TARDIS (the Doctor’s time machine) as an interactive museum piece, and he was whisked away into space. So when he comes back to Earth, he writes about it.

ALSO, I am writing sort of an introduction or prologue or something that’s also from his point of view, but it is looking quite terrible. It’s not done yet, actually. Can you critique it? Here it is:

Where do I start? What do I say? How do I describe this intriguing experience? It’s not easy, my subject being an outer-space adventure. As a journalist, I suppose I could publish this story, but nobody would believe me. So I’ll just write it personally. Who knows, I might publish it anyway. Just not for the newspapers.

My name is Alfred Jon Davison. I’m studying writing at a university. And this is certainly given me a whole lot to write about. I don’t know if I’ll be able to write about anything else anymore. At least not for a long time. I suppose that would put a dip in my grades.

I wonder how many other people in the world (or should I say Universe) can relate to my experience, were swept away from their world without warning.

What do you think? Anything I need to consider? Add? Take off? Tweak?