Sci-Fi, Dysopian-ish book. Anybody familiar with writing that?

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Critiques Novel Idea Critiques Sci-Fi, Dysopian-ish book. Anybody familiar with writing that?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Kayla Joy
    @kayla-joy
      • Total Posts: 4

Hi everyone. I am new to this place.
      I am also new to writing for people other then my family.

I have this idea that has been bouncing around in my head, and I need some help on the plot aspects of things.

I have characters, I have a problem, I have the solution, I have a bad guy, and I have a small outline for the trilogy.
      I just need help trying to turn those ideas into good books with not cheesy plots.

Does anyone here have experience with that sort of thing?

I have ideas, I just need someone to help me choose the right ideas.

I would be willing to email, message on here, or set up a Google doc.

Would anyone be willing to take me under their wing?

Kate Flournoy
      @kate-flournoy
        • Total Posts: 3976

@Kayla-Joy hello! Welcome to KP, the bestistest place on the internet. 😉

While I haven’t written either dystopian or scifi (yet— I have a scifi/steampunk in the works 😉 ) I’d be willing to help all I can. Messaging here is just fine with me, that way others can chime in with their ideas and we can all have a huge brainstorming party. 😀

At this point there’s just one question I would have you ask yourself about the ideas you already have…
        What are you trying to say with your story? What are you trying to get the reader to think about, and what plot twists/threads will best illustrate the problems/truths you are addressing in your story? One of my favorite quotes about writing goes something like this— ‘Don’t worry about originality. Write truth, and originality will come.’ The longer I’ve written, the truer I’ve found this to be.