Joseph’s Songbird [a Christmas short story]

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Critiques Short Story Critiques Joseph’s Songbird [a Christmas short story]

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    AbigailRose
    @abigail-blomberg
      • Total Posts: 19

Here is a short story I wrote over Christmas break, so merry belated Christmas! I have always tried to imagine Joseph’s point of view, so I have finally put that into words.
      Any thoughts or a full critique is welcome! Don’t worry about being to harsh with your feedback. 😉

(the italicization is not working for some reason, so I am sorry if that causes any confusion.)

Thank you for reading!

For His glory,
      Abigail

(p.s. Is this the correct way to post a critique topic? I’m new to all this. )

Joseph’s Songbird
      Joseph laid aside his carving tools on the table laden with sawdust and gazed upon the wooden creation in his hands. He smiled and rubbed his thumb over the wings and beak of the little sparrow. It isn’t perfect, but it is as perfect as I it can be for my sparrow. His eyes twinkled as he thought about his betrothed, Mary. How gentle she was— like a sparrow she was. And her voice, oh, her voice was even sweeter than a bird. He loved it when she would create a song about things she loved, or wonderful things that had happened to her.
      He sighed picked up a chisel and made a scratch in the corner of his work table right next to the numerous other marks in the wood. Another day gone without seeing her. He counted the marks in the wood— about three months Mary had been gone visiting her cousin Elizabeth.
      Joseph set aside the wooden bird and grabbed a tool to begin another project to keep his mind off of missing her— but that only made things worse. So often she would sit beside him as he worked and hum as she gazed upon the work of his hands. “God gave you such a gift Joseph,” she would smile, looking up at him with her big brown eyes.