I'm rubbish at this…

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing General Writing Discussions I'm rubbish at this…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Ingrid
    @ingridrd
      • Total Posts: 830

Honestly, don’t laugh.  I’ve never really tried this before (at least, I’ve never tried and succeeded before).

Kindly rip this synopsis apart and put it back together for me, will you?  It’s for my WIP.

Fifteen-year-old Jaclyn Fallows’ life has been turned upside down—again.

She understands that much.  Sure, she still doesn’t know why she keeps having the same dream about the sister who vanished without a trace two years ago.  Or why her aunt insists she makes friends with her sort-of-brother, William.  Or how she has been able to create a small blue flame in the palm of her hand since she was eight.

But answers are sometimes found in the most unlikely of places.  When Jaclyn meets the mysterious James Ervin, he offers she and William a place to call home.  Of course, there is a catch: James isn’t from the U.S., or even our universe.  However, his offer is too tempting to resist, especially since Jaclyn feels a strong connection to this terrifying new world.  Everything is working out just fine…isn’t it?

Will she risk leaving behind the life she has always known and accept her destiny—or condemn our world to destruction?

A dreamer who believes in the impossible...and dragons. (INFJ-T)

Ingrid
      @ingridrd

@dragon-snapper @emily @shannon @kate-flournoy @emma-flournoy @daeus @anyone

Anonymous
          • Total Posts: 1330

@ingridrd That’s actually pretty good for a first try!

In this part:

Sure, she still doesn’t know why she…

You should leave out the sure and maybe kind of reword that area.

Then in the last sentence of the 3rd paragraph, you should probably say something a little different than “…isn’t it?” Maybe “…or is it?