Illustrations and Personal Opinions Regarding Them

Home Page Forums Other Art Forms Art Illustrations and Personal Opinions Regarding Them

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Joy Mastron
    @i-j-anderson
      • Total Posts: 81

Hello, wonderful, wide world of KP!
      I’m actually not sure if someone has already done a topic concerning this before or not, but it seems that the Art forum decided to fade away a little while ago, so I might as well ask: Do you prefer to have illustrations in the books you are reading?

On one side, I’ve heard that people like illustrations (I think I’m mainly refering to character portraits rather than scenes) because it gives them a more complete personification of a character.

On the other hand, I’ve heard that illustrations can just become annoying and inhibit imagination because they are never how you pictured them in your head.

Personally, as an artist myself, I tend to become easily bored if I don’t have a reference point of what the characters look like before hand. Often what I do is wait until after I’ve read a book, and then go online and find fan art on Deviant Art. But I would rather have a portrait before I start reading rather than a long, clunky, awkward description.

Emma Flournoy
      @emma-flournoy
        • Total Posts: 1352

I-J-Anderson Well if the book was written well, there won’t be a long, clunky, awkward description. 😛

I prefer to get my picture of the character from reading the book, not by an actual picture. It just seems more real to me that way. I could like looking at pictures of characters after I already have my own head picture, but not to get my perception.

Emma Flournoy
        @emma-flournoy

That’s the right tag but it didn’t work…lemme try again.

I-J-Anderson

Emma Flournoy
          @emma-flournoy

i-j-anderson

Emma Flournoy
            @emma-flournoy

I’m sorry…dunno what’s goin’ on. 😛

Daeus
              @daeus
                • Total Posts: 4238