First time writing historical fiction

Home Page Forums Fiction Writing Genre-Writing Historical First time writing historical fiction

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    EpicAddie2
    @epicaddie2
      • Total Posts: 794

I recently started a writing a story set in the 1700s, but I’ve never written historical fiction before. Do you guys have any tips?

@emily @shannon @daughteroftheking @winter-rose @catwing @daeus @anyone else

• This topic was modified 6 years, 4 months ago by EpicAddie2.

INFJ ~ 4w5
      aldarley.wordpress.com

Anonymous
        • Total Posts: 1330

@epicaddie2 Fun! Tons of research (I hate research!!). Tons of outlining (I hate outlining!!). And a lot of plotting. Does that help?

JK. HF is fun. It’s not as bad as I made out above. Don’t get scared off by my representation of my pet genre. XD It is a lot different from Fantasy though. Number one: you’re not creating a world. Depending on the story, there is extensive research that has to be done. Number two: You will probably get lost in your story if you don’t outline. Just a brief outline will do, though. And plotting is important too. I’m still learning, but this is the bulk of what I’ve learned so far. Hope this helps!

EpicAddie2
        @epicaddie2

@emily Thanks, that helps a lot!

INFJ ~ 4w5
          aldarley.wordpress.com

Anonymous

@epicaddie2 Sure! I’m glad that I was finally of use to someone. 😛 (Hear that @shannon?)

Anonymous
              • Total Posts: 859

@epicaddie2 Ooh the 1700s is a fun time period!!!