Co-writing

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    PrincessFoo
    @princessfoo
      • Total Posts: 194

Hi! This is my first time writing in the forum, but I really enjoy reading the conversations others are having.

My cousin and I are writing a fantasy story together. We are alternating chapters and characters, but at the beginning a lot is happening with my character, but not much is happening on her side. Any tips on how to help this, or how to co-write in general?

Snapper
      @dragon-snapper
        • Total Posts: 3515

@princessfoo Hiya! Welcome to the bestistest place on the internets!
        Hmmm. Well, I’ve co-written some, though I haven’t done it in a bit. First thing I would ask is if your characters are going to cross paths at some point. I suggest discussing where each of you are going with your own plots, if you haven’t already. That way you can understand where each other is going and might help you have a general direction for each of them.
        On the other hand, I’ll tag help because they are good at helping people. 😛

@daeus
        @kate-flournoy @ethryndal @hope @northerner @winter-rose @perfectfifths @leumeister @Audrey-caylin @anna-brie @graciegirl @r-j-wordsmith @I-j-Anderson @people who have done co-writing

☀ ☀ ☀ ENFP ☀ ☀ ☀

Kate Flournoy
        @kate-flournoy
          • Total Posts: 3976

@PrincessFoo welcome! And unfortunately I have no experience with co-writing. At all. :/ One possible option for your specific dilemma, however, may simply be to alternate chapters/scenes between what’s happening with your character and what’s happening with hers even before they meet, assuming the plot/structure works that way.

Daeus
          @daeus
            • Total Posts: 4238

Hi @PrincessFoo I’ve never cowritten a book, though I think it’d be fun. I do know of a book on the subject though, but I’ve never read it. https://www.amazon.com/Co-writing-book-Collaboration-Co-creation-Authors-ebook/dp/B018GF66JE/