Beta-Reading

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Snapper
    @dragon-snapper
      • Total Posts: 3515

For reason that I’ve never done this before, nor have ever heard of it besides on here, beta-reading is new to me. What does one do in beta-reading? Is there any method to it? Anything I should keep in mind?

@daeus
      @kate-flournoy @emma-flournoy @northerner @jess @graciegirl @winter-rose @ethryndal @overcomer @anyone else

☀ ☀ ☀ ENFP ☀ ☀ ☀

Kate Flournoy
      @kate-flournoy
        • Total Posts: 3976

@Dragon-Snapper easy. Read the book, tell ’em what’s wrong with it. XD

Okay, do try and be civil. But basically, they’re asking you to read it because they want your honest opinion on it. So give your honest opinion.

Jess
        @jess
          • Total Posts: 575

@dragon-snapper, What Kate said. Most people use the comments function to insert comments into a document, and then the writer gets them back and goes through the doc, implementing those ideas or not. I like to insert comments as I go, then after I’ve read the whole thing, go back and do things like character development and plot. But there is no real method. Beta reading can be for anything, like short stories, novellas, novels. If you are getting something beta-read, try not to take offence. 😉 The beta-readers don’t mean any offence at all, and if they do, you should probably get new beta-readers. 😛

Gracie
          @graciegirl
            • Total Posts: 889

@dragon-snapper Err..what they said….? I was actually gonna ask this myself! 😝 Thanks for saving me the trouble!

*is probably geeking out about something*

Daeus
            @daeus
              • Total Posts: 4238